PRESIDENT Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. reappointed Ambassador Manuel Antonio Teehankee as the country’s Permanent Representative to the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva, Switzerland.

Teehankee’s appointment was deferred by the Commission on Appointments in December 2022 over trade disputes between Philippines and Thailand.

He served as the country’s representative to the WTO from 2004 to 2011 and from 2017 up to present.

From 2008 to October 2011, he was the the chairperson of the WTO Committee on Trade and Environment sitting in Special Session (CTESS).

Other new appointments as announced by the Presidential Communications Office were:

Department of Agriculture:

*Andrew Rodolfo Orais – Director IV

*Jose Elumba – Director III

Department of Information and Communications Technology:

*Frederick Amores – Director IV

*Sitti Rama Alawi – Director III

*Reynaldo Sy – Director III

*Jocelyn Tendenilla – Director III

Department of Labor and Employment:

*Kenneth Chua – member representing the employer sector of National Tripartite Industrial Peace Council

*Milagros Ogalinda – member representing the labor sector of National Tripartite Industrial Peace Council

Department of Trade and Industry:

*Leonilla Baluyut – Assistant Secretary

National Security Council:

*Marlo Guloy – Deputy Director General

*Benjamin Madrigal – Deputy Director General

(SunStar Philippines)