FORMER Commission on Audit (COA) chairperson Michael Aguinaldo has been appointed as the head of the Philippine Competition Commission (PCC) by President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., the Malacañang said on Thursday, January 12, 2023.

The Presidential Communications Office said Aguinaldo’s tenure will end by 2030.

Aguinaldo was the chairman of COA at the time it audited the government’s spendings related to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Its findings, especially on the procurement of face masks, Covid-19 test kits and personal protective equipment, has launched the conduct of a Senate investigation over allegations of overpricing.

The PCC, which is an attached agency of the Office of the President, is mandated to deter and go after anti-competitive deals and anti-competitive mergers, investigate antitrust cases, impose sanctions, issue advisory opinions, research competition-related issues, and promote a competitive culture in government and firms.

Marcos also appointed the following:

Faith Barana De Guia

Director III

Presidential Communications Office

Office of the President

Gloria Jacinto Balboa

Assistant Secretary

Department of Health

Johanna Solon Banzon

Director IV

Department of Health

Rodley Desmond Daniel Muñoz Carza

Director III

Department of Health

Geneses Rivero Abot

Deputy Director General

Anti-Red Tape Authority

Office of the President

Jocelyn De Guzman Cabreza

Alan Rio Luga

Acting Members, Representing the Banking, Finance, Investment, and Insurance Sectors

Board of Trustees

Government Service Insurance System

Edgardo Dizon Pamintuan

Acting Chairman and Member

Board of Directors

Clark Development Corporation

Robert Joseph Montes De Claro

Acting Member, Representing the Employers’ Group

Social Security Commission

Robert Rayo Bioco

Acting Administrator and Member

National Food Authority

Department of Agriculture

(SunStar Philippines)