DECEMBER 19 was a red letter day in Muntinlupa City which marked its 105th anniversary as a municipality. On December 19, 1917, Governor General Francis Burton Harrison signed the proclamation separating Muntinlupa from Taguig and making the latter an independent municipality. In various prior periods, Muntinlupa was a barrio of Biñan, in the province of Laguna. It later became a part of the province of Morong (now Rizal). Specifically, Muntinlupa became a barrio of Taguig.

On November 17, 1975, Muntinlupa and 16 other municipal entities were carved out from the Province of Rizal to form the geographical unit known as Metropolitan Manila.

Muntinlupa marched, slowly at first, but later rapidly transformed itself from a fifth-class municipality into a highly urbanized city. Muntinlupa achieved cityhood on March 1, 1995.

During the last few years, Muntinlupa has been the consistent recipient of significant awards from government and civic groups. These include the Seal of Good Governance, Most Business-Friendly LGU, Good Financial Housekeeping and other awards recognizing Muntinlupa’s initiatives in economic, environmental, infrastructure, institutional and social development.

Mayor Ruffy Biazon, Congressman Jimmy Fresnedi, Vice Mayor Temy Simundac, City Council Majority Leader Raul Corro and the Muntinlupa Councilors led the day’s festivities with the inauguration in the morning of the new wing of the Ospital ng Muntinlupa (Osmun). Incidentally, Osmun, headed by Doc Edwin Dimatatac, recently started its school of medicine, in collaboration with the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Muntinlupa (PLMUN), headed by Dr. Raymund Arcega.

In the afternoon, Biazon recognized distinguished Muntinlupeño civil servants, who included this year’s outstanding employees, retirees and recently-graduated city councilors.

“To be a good Muntinlupeño, we should know how to give back, in whatever way we can. Be it a sense of volunteerism or even small acts of kindness for others,” Biazon exhorted guests during the anniversary day awards ceremony held at the Muntinlupa Sports Center. Taking a leaf from Muntinlupa’s city hymn, Biazon urged Muntinlupeños to continue to offer their “Lakas, Talino at Buhay” in the service of the community and country.

Elizabeth Agdon Gaviola, Muntinlupa City’s Human Resources head, identified this year’s awardees, as follows:

2022 Outstanding Employees – Rose Sharon P. Sorolla (Most Outstanding); Britt B. Villapando (Second Most Outstanding); Jia Claire Z. Matnog (Third Most Outstanding); Other Finalists (in no particular order): Don Frederick V. Arciaga; Ramel R. Batan;

John Russel M. Benavidez; Sarah Jean L. Cummings; Junievien D. Leyte; Mary Grace G. Montoya; Cyrill Chester K. Param; Christian Mark S. San Juan; Roberto D. Unira;

Retirees: Honorata A. Martinez – 46 years; Melecia N. Manuel – 37 years; Pedro N. Mesa – 30 years; Ermie A. Takeda – 27 years; Thelma B. Vasquez – 26 years; Fernando S. Arquero – 22 years; Saly A. Del Mundo – 21 years; Nancy G. Caba – 17 years.

Graduating City Councilors who recently completed 3 consecutive terms:

From District 1 – Louisito A. Arciaga and Stephanie G. Teves-Wong; From District 2 -Dhesiree G. Arevalo.